‹ Back to Blog

The Infinite Wisdom of the Chakras

You may already be familiar with the concept of the subtle body, which includes our chakras, or this may be an entirely new concept to you. There is currently a great awakening and growing interest in subtle body energy and how it supports our physical, emotional and spiritual wellness. Having a unique point of view about the chakra system, its infinite wisdom and its ability to deepen your conscious awareness is an empowering way to work with the subtle body.

The word chakra comes from the ancient Sanskrit language, commonly known as the language of yoga and mantra. Chakra is defined as a “wheel” of energy or light that occurs at the intersection of energy channels called nadis. The main energy channels in the body are called shushumna (the central line of energy), Ida and Pingala nadis. The seven main chakras are located at the points where Ida and Pingala intersect as they cross over shushumna. Each of these wheels spins at a different frequency, with the lower chakras moving more slowly and the upper chakras spinning more rapidly. Through this movement, the chakras are processing and storing energy. When all the chakras are open, moving and flowing with energy they are a powerful system to support our experience on physical, emotional, mental and spiritual levels. When one or more of the chakras becomes blocked, we can feel depleted, out of balance and out of alignment. While we focus on these seven chakras, it is commonly known that there are literally hundreds of minor chakras in the body and energy field. By balancing and tuning into the seven main chakras, we can assist all the chakras to come into balance. This is beneficial to our physical bodies as well as for our spiritual alignment and our higher purpose.

DeNicola Chakra Chart

Each chakra has a general placement in the body, a color association, and is connected to a sound and a natural element. In addition, there are common themes that we experience on a recurring basis that have their deep energy roots in the chakras. For example, the Root Chakra at the base of the spine is connected to the element of earth, our family, the ability to feel grounded and have trust. If we have been “uprooted” from our home or family, we may feel disconnected, unsure or even fearful. By recognizing this, we gain the wisdom that lies within the chakras as a tool for self-discovery and transformation. This infinite wisdom brings our learning, personal healing and awareness to a higher level of consciousness.

The fourth chakra is commonly known as the heart chakra. In the center of the heart chakra sits a 12 petal green lotus flower containing the Star of David, which represents all aspects of love, compassion, forgiveness, grief, sorrow, joy and our heart’s truest longings. The color of this energy center is commonly seen as a beautiful emerald green. Heart chakra is related to the respiratory system, physical heart, lungs and the thymus, which regulates the immune system. On emotional, mental and spiritual levels, this energy center is vital to our ability to give and receive love. Without this ability, our lives can feel incomplete and unfulfilled. The heart chakra is a powerful space to open to love, practice forgiveness and create the life we are meant to live.

How do I connect with my chakras?

Understanding the energy of each chakra can be multilayered and unique to you. The location and general color theory of the chakras is a great place to begin.

Root Chakra – Red – Base of the Spine – Earth
Sacral Chakra – Orange – Below the Navel- Water
Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow – Center of Top Ribs- Fire
Heart Chakra – Green – Center of Chest – Air
Throat Chakra – Sky Blue – Center of Throat – Space
Third Eye Chakra – Indigo Blue – Center of Brows – Light
Crown Chakra – Violet – Top of Head – Consciousness

When we begin to explore our relationship to our experiences through the chakras, we find deeper insights as well as wisdom and healing on many levels. You might begin by identifying areas that you are drawn to through their color or location in the physical body. Spend time bringing focus and breath to those areas. Where attention goes, awareness flows, so making this a part of your personal practice is a powerful way to learn about your unique subtle body.

Republished with permission from Alison DeNicola.

Group Inquiry Request

Group Inquiry Request